Skip to main content

What We Do

Adults with Medical Staff at Home Senior Asian Couple
Contract Map Image Map

Quality Innovation Network-Quality Improvement Organization (QIN-QIO) for Medicare

As the QIN-QIO for Arizona and California, HSAG collaborates with patients, families, caregivers, hospitals, nursing homes, physician offices, and other stakeholders in order to improve healthcare.

QIN-QIOs work with communities and providers on strategic initiatives and projects to implement improvements in the quality of care available throughout the spectrum of care. QIN-QIO projects drive quality by providing technical assistance, convening learning and action networks for sharing best practices, and collecting and analyzing data for improvement.

External Quality Review Organization (EQRO) for Medicaid

HSAG has more than 30 years of experience performing external quality review (EQR) activities. HSAG is officially designated as an EQRO in 19 states. HSAG began performing EQR activities in 1983 and currently provides services in Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Iowa, Louisiana, Michigan, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Oregon, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia. HSAG works collaboratively with the state Medicaid agencies for which it performs EQR services to help improve the quality of care provided to Medicaid recipients. Moreover, HSAG collaborates with each state's staff to develop state quality improvement plans and to design initiatives that will result in measurable outcomes. HSAG's work affects more than 44 million Medicaid recipients, approximately 49 percent of the nation’s Medicaid population.

End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Network Contractor

In its role as an End Stage Renal Disease (ESRD) Network, HSAG provides quality improvement, data management, grievance investigation, technical assistance, and patient and professional education services for more than 1,990 dialysis providers and over 161,000 dialysis patients in the states of Florida (Network 7); Oklahoma, Louisiana, and Arkansas (Network 13); Arizona, Colorado, Nevada, New Mexico, Utah, and Wyoming (Network 15); America Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, Mariana Islands, and Northern California (Network 17); and Southern California (Network 18). The goal of the ESRD Network is to efficiently and effectively increase the quality of care and quality of life for ESRD patients, and all HSAG ESRD Network activities are focused on promoting patient-centered care as well as patient and family engagement at the provider level.