Skip to main content
Past Event Sticker

Webinar: CDI Intervention Kick-Off

Provider in Home with Senior Patients Medical Worker
Top

Wednesday, January 17, 2018, 11:00 a.m. to 12:00 p.m. PT.

11 a.m. to 12 Noon PT | 12 Noon to 1 p.m. MST/AZ | 1 to 2 p.m. CT | 2 to 3 p.m. ET

Join Health Services Advisory Group (HSAG) on January 17, 2018, to kick off the next phase of the nursing home Clostridium difficile infection (CDI) reporting and reduction initiative. The first phase of the initiative required nursing homes to enter CDI data into the National Healthcare Safety Network (NHSN) to develop national and state baseline CDI rates. In 2018, nursing homes in Arizona, California, Florida, and Ohio will join more than 2,300 nursing homes nationwide to reduce the baseline rate. This effort will require continued NHSN data entry through December 31, 2018, and a data-driven focus on antibiotic stewardship using Quality Assurance & Performance Improvement (QAPI).

During this webinar, HSAG will:

  • Summarize the 10-month baseline reporting period and identify steps that need to be completed to maintain NHSN user and facility access in 2018.
  • Analyze state and national CDI rates and present the 2018 intervention strategy to maintain or reduce CDI rates.
  • Demonstrate how to develop a CDI-focused performance improvement project (PIP) and explain how to access facility-level CDI rates from NHSN.

Webinar Materials

PowerPoint Presentation
CDI Big Picture PIP Handout
CDI QAPI Case Study Handout

Webinar Recording available at: https://hsagonline.webex.com/hsagonline/lsr.php?RCID=221dc40e99ff604e532abd44f22c6c74